Committees of the Third Massachusetts Access to Justice Commission*


Access to Lawyers Committee | Chair: Joel Feldman

The Access to Lawyers committee is tasked with expanding the number of attorneys in the private bar who provide civil legal services to low- and moderate-income individuals. As such, the committee has spearheaded three initiatives: limited assistance representation (LAR), fee-shifting models, and law school incubators and curriculum.

Administrative Justice CommitteeChair: Georgia Katsoulomitis

The Administrative Justice committee addresses access to justice issues within administrative agencies. To address these issues, the committee is divided into three subcommittees: language access, technology, and information/integration sharing between administrative agencies.

Delivery of Legal Services CommitteeCo-Chairs: Russell Engler and Sue Finegan

The Delivery of Legal Services committee is involved with strengthening the civil legal services community.

Executive CommitteeCo-Chairs: Honorable Geraldine Hines and Sue Finegan

The Executive Committee oversees the work of the other seven committees as well as the Commission itself.

Non-lawyer Roles CommitteeCo-Chairs: Honorable Geraldine Hines and Sheila Hubbard

The Non-lawyer Roles committee finds ways to enlarge the number of non-lawyers who provide appropriate assistance to individuals who cannot afford lawyers.

Self-Represented Litigants CommitteeCo-Chairs: Jonathan Mannina and Honorable Maureen Monks

The Self-Represented Litigants committee focuses on  improving access to justice for individuals involved in litigation who cannot afford lawyers.

Social Service CommitteeCo-Chairs: Jacqui Bowman and Sue Marsh

The Social Service committee seeks to understand better how social service workers serve as legal advocates for their clients.

Revenue Enhancement CommitteeChair: Marijane Benner-Browne

The Revenue Enhancement committee finds ways to increase the funding of civil legal aid through innovative projects.


*The Commission developed these eight committees to further its five important strategies:

  1. Increasing justice by improving the effectiveness of, and the funding for, civil legal services organizations;
  2. Increasing services provided by private attorneys;
  3. Improving assistance to unrepresented litigants;
  4. Improving access to justice beyond the courts, such as in administrative agencies; and
  5. Exploring the role of non-lawyers in the provision of appropriate civil legal assistance.